A few questions about Directx9

There are 25 replies in this Thread. The last Post () by Gregorii.

• Hi, its my first time here on the forum but I have been playing Crossfire for several years meanwhile. Mostly in singleplayer but also had some appearances on the server about 2 years ago. I can not play much online because my internet is very slow so I will stick to the singleplayer which is great.

The reason why I registered today is because I just love this mod (there is no alternative when you want to play the singleplayer) and today I noticed some comments at Moddb.com about a DirectX9 addon for Freelancer. It was said that all Freelancer mods are going to be allowed to use it, except Crossfire.
    Why is that? I am a bit confused and don't see why they would want to "lock out" the most popular Freelancer mod.
    Why are we not allowed to play the game in Directx9?

• That was probably just a (bad) rumor, and by what I remember, Crossfire already has plans to adapt FL with Directx9.

Also there's no real way to make CF not allowed to use something that's actually public.

Chars: [CFPD]Michael~something (x25), [CFPD]~SQMS~{[(store)]} (x3), [CFPD]xfer, Event~Manager~Michael, StarfIier~EM~Michael, Event_Team_2, [GR]Michael[SP] and a blueprint of [CFPD]Sephirothis

• Well, like Huor said... they dont like us.
    It is no rumor that they disallow CF players to use the dx9 plugin, its an official statement made by the developers. Vishnu informed us about this fact just a few days ago.
    It is a decision that i can not change or influence and the CF2.0 download will not contain that dx9 plugin. I am absolutely not interested to argue over this topic with these people.
    We as team have discussed the option to build an own dx9 plugin but these plans are on ice as we would need much more support from modders and coders to do all the work in time.