Blender 3d Ship Design

There are 95 replies in this Thread. The last Post () by Michael.

• Hello all,

I just found this Crossfire mod 1.9 just the other day, and was amazed at what you guys have done with it!
    I was playing Freelancer for years, and just recently came back to play around with it again, and found this site by accident.

I was wondering if there is a repository for ship models somewhere, and what are the specs needed for new designs?

I have a lot of experience with Blender 2.63, and 3d models are easy to make.

I just need to know all the rules that must be followed. ( ie. max number of verts, quads only, bump maps, texture maps, how to handle gun ports/engines/torpedo )

I figure if I look at a few example models, I could figure out how to build my own.

It is also easy to build a cinematic in Blender, and a more realistic looking Trent wouldn't be too difficult either ;-)

Any help in this area would be apreciated, I'd love to help you guys out any way possible.

Jim

• Welcome here jiminma50 :)

• that sounds good
    ingame ships shouldnt be too detailed ... in fights you practically dont see that many details of ships
    maybe 20k polygons for a fighter
    60k for a cap ship

signew.jpg

cfmoddblogo.png5904.png5904.png
    http://www.moddb.com/scripts/topsite.php?ts=4766

Only dead fish swim with the stream.
    Don't discuss with idiots. They only drag you down to their level and then beat you with experience there.

This is ten percent luck,
    Twenty percent skill,
    Fifteen percent concentrated power of will,
    Five percent pleasure,
    Fifty percent pain,
    And a hundred percent reason to remember the name!

• Welcome jiminma50! Nice to have you here!

Gearhead10.png