New to CF, CrossFire 2.0 is awesome. Love it! but its kicking my ass

There are 7 replies in this Thread. The last Post () by The Original.

• Hey, Firstly a big warm thanks to every single person who worked and are still working on one of the best games ever.

Hi, I'm new to CF and was pleasantly surprised to know about the size of content, level of detail, lore and so many fine and minute details along with enhanced gameplay. I WAS AWESTRUCK!

So I decided to give it a try, fresh install of FL along with CF 2.0. Then I proceeded to get my ass kicked so badly like nothing else ever did. This confused me as

• I had completed Vanilla FL three times till now.
    • My aiming was rather good in FL, Hand eye coordination was enough to stick like glue to any enemy AI.
    • The weapons, equipment and ship were the best in entire starting system.

The framerate/FPS during fight is near 30fps which I reckon ought to do well enough for single player.
    The AI is so fast, I've tried relentlessly but the direction changes are 0.5secs.
    The AI is also good at evading missiles most of the time. Hardly two out of 10 missiles hit it.

I've read through other recommended tips/beginner's guide and threads.
    The 1. Wiki's 'Combat Video Guides' (watched)
    2. Starter Guide

Survival is easy when you focus on dodging ships thanks to rotation and strafing.
    The Aiming and AI part is just too hard. From another thread, Each Rouge AI ship has atleast 10 Shield repair and 10 Hull repairs.
    Add this to 6-8 rogues who are insanely fast and you will be exhausted trying to kill them.

I've seen a few videos with 1.9 CF (like this video) and the ships are tame and hardly as fast in direction changes as I've experienced in 2.0

Question:

• Is there any way to make it more smooth? Rouge AI goes all over the screen with direction changes so fast that under attack its impossible to keep up even with strafing turns and throttle control.