Newtonian physics feasibility on FL ?

There are 8 replies in this Thread. The last Post () by Mutos.

• Hi all,

Would like to know if any newtonian physics flight model is achievable on Freelancer through modding...

To help with answering in an understandable way for me ^-^ I've seen some game modding (Transcendence, NAEV, MW4, and also Celestia) and I'm a former developer (from '85 UCSD Pacal to .Net 2008), so I can understand the concepts. However, I'm a quite complete newbie on FL modding. I've read some of the modding tutorial, I see what they mean, but doesn't know the file structure involved. I'l DL the FL SDK to get more in touch and give it a real-life try.

For now, the only thing I found on the forums is in this post about "More accurate NPC's".

Thanks in advance for any hint ^-^

• Hi

The source code for the game engine is not available and the 'physical universe laws' calculation formulae is thus fixed.

What is described in the link you point to , is the same as if a developer of equipment developed to different specifications. It does not change the newtonian laws, just the parameters of the euipment operating inside that laws.

It is pretty amasing what you can all change. The original develoeprs had a very good product and well thought out equipment models.

Kind Regards

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Windows 8.1 X64, AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black 3.4GHz, 16GB 1600 RAM, NVIDEA GeForce GXT 460

• I remember a Mod, or a projekt (forgot the name) which took it in account.

Maybe someone else can remember it?

Click the image above to visit us.

• Hi Riebens, hi Daywalker,

Thanks for your answers. Indeed FL seems to have much more leeway for improvement through modding than I previously thought !

In the link, my interest was not in the main topic, but rather in BlackStar's answer. But I definitely will contact him by PM to see what he actually did achieve.