Graphics gone bad!

There are 34 replies in this Thread. The last Post () by X-Ray.

• I was playing CF earlier today without a problem. I have just gone back in to play, so restarted the CF and found that the graphics had gone bad.

I am no expert on graphics but it would seem to me to be the lighting effects. Rather than being smooth they are there are distinct bands and the whole image seems a bit out of focus.

So I did the usual sorts of things, exited CF and rejoined and rebooted my PC but nothing changed. So I switched to my laptop and fired up the launcher (V1.6). Hit the launch CF multiplayer button and got a fatal error message saying that freelancer could not detect any 3D graphics card (and advice to reinstall drivers and game).

So I have suddenly developed problems with the graphics on two seperate machines which would seem a bit unlikely. So is any work under way or new up dates been applied to the CF server (or related systems/hardware/software) that might have caused this?

If not, any advice as to the way to solve my problems?

Lt-Cornel Ancalagon the Black

The early bird might get the worm
    but
    The second mouse gets the cheese

• There are new graphics - which appear to be causing this effect on many pcs mine included. Press shift f12 this deactivates the new graphics

• Thanks for that, PC is now looking a lot better.

Any idea how to deal with the laptop problem. It gives me a fatal error and does not even launch. So I cannot apply this solution as it does not get that far.

Laptop is quite old and running XP.

but

• 2 updates today

1. a part of the dynamic lightnings that were planned for CF1.8 have been included to CF1.7
    you will notice the change once you fire guns close to other objects

2. yes the graphics did change
    this is due to a post production hook which is able to add bloom effects, dynamic shadows, ssao, motion blur, reflections and weather effects