So close to being able to play... but strange problem

There are 6 replies in this Thread. The last Post () by /V\ichael.

• Hello everyone,

I'm new to the Crossfire community. I played Freelancer YEARS ago and following the announcement of Star Citizen I decided to try it again.

I found out about the Crossfire mod and the community and thought i'd give it a try.

I've managed to get the game to launch with Crossfire installed. There is a slight issue in that my font appears REALLY tiny, but switching the resolution around fixes that (to REALLY large).

I tried the single player game. It runs fine, up to the point I launch to go into space. I click launch, the game minimises to my menu bar then eventually disappears.

I tried logging into a multiplayer server randomly. I got in, to the starter planet, went to the pub/store, etc. But the moment I try to launch into space the same 'crash' happened.

There is no error message, the game just stops.

Any advice? Has anyone else experience something similar?

• Hello otteranglais,

I will have few questions. What crossfire mod version you have installed? Are you launching it via launcher and have you let download all updates? Is also possible that during mod activation some of mod files not overwrite old FL files because they were write protected. Is recommended after FL install clean all "read only" attributes and run mod installation and activation! like system administrator.

• Welcome to the SWAT Portal, the keeper of the Lancers.

The advise to remove "read only" from every Freelancer file is recommended, but that on the new fresh Freelancer install, after uninstalling CF, then FL then Return Backups (Ctrl + R) on the FLMM to clean up it's mod history.