OK Some quick questions. (with probably very complex answers)

There are 6 replies in this Thread. The last Post () by SWAT_OP-R8R.

• So I did some digging here and I've done a ton of searching elsewhere; apparently my interests in modding aren't the common things people go for in FL. Thus having some trouble finding answers. Mostly I like FL as is, insofar as plot and setting go, but there are some gameplay issues with it (and pratically every other Elite style sim) that bug me so That's all I'm looking to change. Mostly just balance things. I'll list them all, even though some I already figured out and note the ones I'm still looking for help on so you can get a general idea where I'm going with this. I'm new to modding FL but I've done lots of other modding from mapping to scripting to hex modding on really old games. So don't be afraid to throw out the complex answers, but be specific when it comes to stuff that's particular to FL modding, because I don't have the vocabulary and experience with this particular game yet.

Filler weapons and ship types. I just don't get the concept of useless stuff in games. Better and worse ok, but not useless. The challenge should be one of piloting skill not grinding tolerance. So I need to re-balance all the weapons and ships to make each serve a specific function. Not a problem, it will just be time consuming.

Shields on small ships. Gone. I can buy a station, cruiser or destroyer having the power needed for this but not a fighter. Besides they make people too comfortable. It's much more fun when every weapon hit could result in some subsystem getting knocked offline. (Did I mention I like Battletech?) This should be easy enough.

Which leads us to nano-bots, also gone. Gah it's the health and mana potions of the space age. I'm astounded they didn't make them red and blue. Another upside is I don't have to make the AI use them to balance, just take them away from the player.