Tight budget and need new computer

There are 23 replies in this Thread. The last Post () by supercars.

• I am a High School student and if i had $500, and i wanted Computer mainly for gaming...what brand and what would i want with it just for gaming necessities. I'm in the US and my parents most likely wont get it for me for X-mas!!! can someone point me in the right direction???

• I buy all my comp stuff from either http://www.newegg.com or http://www.zipzoomfly.com , but Dell also has adequate starter setups. Amazing what $500 will get these days!

My rig: i3-4130 Core Duo (3.4Ghz), Gigabit GA-B85-HD3 mobo, 8Gb PC1600ram, Samsung 2x 80Gb SATA RAID, Intel Integrated graphics, 3 optical drives, 23" Asus HD monitor + peripherals

Character names: Centaurian_Alpha & CA derivatives
    Founder: Independent Operators' Consortium (established 2006)

• Hmm... I've got a Dell but I wouldn't recommend it highly if you're trying to get the best bang for your buck. They allow you to customize your order, but for many features they'll gouge you a good $50-$200 or so. It adds up very quickly. A friend of mine that used to live nearby used to build his PCs with parts he bought and put together himself - usually could come up with something rather respectable on a $400 budget. I've never done such a thing though and I don't know how feasible it would be for you, but what you're looking for can certainly be done if you go about it the right way. :)

24/7 SWAT CF veteran from sometime before 1.6 up into 1.82. Lots of memories!
    Built 88 chars between DC, BD, UAC,
    STC, and freelancers. Ashes to ashes, alas? D:

• I know this is not the solution you are looking for but for that cash you should buy a console, XBOX 360, Wii or PS3. You will meet the best of games with that.

500$ is not that much for a nice PC setup specially for gaming if you consider that the best graphic card allready cost that much...