Wing Commander

Feb

RedBahamut loves George Oldziey's classic Wing Commander 3 music, but he wishes there was more of it! Since there aren't all that many fan remixes to add to the variety, he's created his own remastered album. Back in 2021 he released a test track, and now he's ready to share the entire composition. I'm listening to it right now. It sticks closely to the tone of the original while adding some refreshing flourishes here and there. Give it a listen below!

I started playing Wing Commander 3 a few years ago and the first thing that really got me was the absolute fantastic soundtrack. After checking a bit on Youtube, I am quite surprised of not finding much music related to WC3 or even remakes from remixers, so here is my take and my contribution to the Wing Commander community, hope you enjoy, Cheers!

Feb

Doubles is best! Or at least so says the April 1996 issue of GamesMaster, a UK-based gaming magazine that ran from 1993 to 2018. It features a cover story promoting not one but two big Wing Commander reviews: the PlayStation port of Wing Commander III and the original PC release of Wing Commander IV. But the biggest story here is surely the stunning 1990s magazine layouts seen throughout which are sort of like a mesmerizing surrealist landscape that you can't stop from staring it:

GamesMaster-Issue41-April1996-Covert.jpgGamesMaster-Issue41-April1996-Page004t.jpgGamesMaster-Issue41-April1996-Page005t.jpgGamesMaster-Issue41-April1996-Page036t.jpgGamesMaster-Issue41-April1996-Page037t.jpgGamesMaster-Issue41-April1996-Page038t.jpgGamesMaster-Issue41-April1996-Page039t.jpgGamesMaster-Issue41-April1996-Page054t.jpgGamesMaster-Issue41-April1996-Page055t.jpg

Feb

I think I might have found a neat reference. Ultima fans, follow me for a moment. Here are screenshots of (some of) bartenders from Privateer. The heads are animated in front of a background that was rendered in 3D Studio.