A few questions about the rules, rules, rules

There are 4 replies in this Thread. The last Post () by Sledgehammer.

• Hello,

I searched around the forum for answers to some of my questions, but didn't find anything conclusive. Sorry if this thread is redundant. And sorry if I sound like an ignorant newb.

First off, this is a very good mod. I have played a handful of FL mods over the years, both singleplayer and multiplayer, and usually lost interest rather quickly. This mod reawakened my interest in FL where others did not. Nice work!

I jumped online only yesterday and have so far had no complaints with anyone. In fact, I am particularly impressed with one member of the Dragon Corps, who gave me a very generous welcome to the system, for no other reason than that he knew that I was a newbie. DC is on my "A" list.

However, I have been diligently reading through the posts here, and have a few questions or concerns about the rules. For starters, I understand that you need permission to enter clan systems, and permission to buy a ship in those systems. I know this is conventional, but there are some points I was hoping you could clarify.

If someone sneaks in and buys a ship, I have heard it said that the clans like to "force" the player to sell the ship. I assume they do this by threatening to hunt them continuously and make their life in the Sirius sector miserable.

However, I have noticed -- and heard from others -- that some clans rarely have any members online, or so it seems; so that is one concern.

Also, when you ask permission from a clan member, what if they say no? (Perhaps for no other reason than because they can.) Is their word law? Would it be considered bad form to ask a different clan member right afterwards? In my experience, some people are just miserly and stingy for no good reason, while others are all heart.