Posts by Arvedui

Originally posted by oMarauder
    wow. i am noticing some serious hormone problems here. there's a cure for that, you know? it's pretty simple, you know?

to take a cold shower?

as you may know, im a scientist and thus my point of view of the nobel prizes is 'scientific', mostly apolitical:

you get a nobel prize in chemistry, physics, or economics when you make a discovery or formulate a theory important enough to deserve a prize, not when you declare you are willing to do a discovery or to formulate a theory

the same can be said about medicine nobel prizes. the guy that gets the prize is the one that cures the disease, not the one that declares he will make efforts to cure it

you get a nobel prize in literature when you are a writer that has already written something that deserves a prize, not when you declare you are going to write something really good

(and yes, i usually know the works of the guys that get the nobel prizes in chemistry and physics, and sometimes also the ones hat get the medicine one, and usually they deserve it. simply its difficult to know about them if you are not a scientist as is difficult for me to know about economics winners as im not an economist)

consequently, i expect the nobel peace prize to be granted to somebody that has achieved some results in his search for peace, not to somebody that has simply declared he wants the world peace (that, on the other way, seems to be the final goal of most competitors in the miss universe contest) and is willing to make some efforts to achieve it

from my point of view, this man (regardless of him being the president of the usa or the last worker of the smallest factory of kuala lumpur, or of him being black, white, or purple) has not done achievements enough to get the prize, so he doesnt deserves it yet.

if he manages to get done all the stuff he promised then he maybe will deserve the prize, but not yet...

just my 2 cents

Originally posted by Gunny