Fresh install, original disk, Freelancer will not run on Windows 7 x64, Please Help? [SOLVED]

There are 15 replies in this Thread. The last Post () by EddtheHat.

• Calling all experts, please help? In preparation for a CF2.0 mod, I have been trying to get an original, disk copy, of Freelancer to run on a recently rebuilt Windows 7 Pro, x64. I have been playing FL in SP and occasionally MP mode for many years and installed FL on many x32 bit machines without issue.
    Although, the program appears to install all the files correctly in the C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Games\Freelancer folder, it will not run and crashes out immediately.
    My hardware is: x2 Twin Core AMD 2.4GHz 2216 CPUs on a Tyan Opteron n3600 Thunder x64, with 16BG RAM, a Nvidia Quadro FX1500 graphics card and a creative SB X-Fi Sound Card. The following is my method and diagnostics.
    After loading disk into drive, I used the Explorer Properties to set the Compatibility on the setup.exe to "Windows XP-SP3" and "Run As Administrator." I then turned off the Windows Defender AV and installed the game as normal. After installation, I manually checked and set all .exe and dll files in \Freelancer\EXE folder to the same Compatibility as above and even set the Security to Full Control for my User Account for all files. I have also set the UAC on the Control Panel to minimum. I then updated the "flconfigdatabase" file with my GPU ID using 0x029e = "Quadro FX 1500". I have set my Display Resolution to 1280 x 960 for a 4:3 aspect ratio, as per FLs original install instructions and also turned off SB X-Fi 3D sound. Even though Windows Defender is still showing as Real-Time Protection as off, I set an Exception entry for the Freelancer folder. I also conducted a separate check of rundll32.exe which works ok. Yet Freelancer still will not run when starting from installed folder or desktop shortcut. Does anyone have any experience of getting FL to run correctly on Windows 7 x64?