Single Player Hovis Race

There are 11 replies in this Thread. The last Post () by SilverFox.

• I am new to Crossfire. The increased speed makes it impossible to finish the race, especially towards the end. Is there any way to reduce the cruise speed?

• Is there any way to reduce the cruise speed?

Yes, but not without cheating :)
    It is possible to beat Hovis, many have done it. You have to learn the race track, where to put your ship to enter next time.
    Also your ship is important (some are slow) - which do you use ?

CF RP: Probably smuggling something or exploring the universe
    EM char: Event_Manager_Silverfox

9248-cebc88b9.png

• Thank you for the reply. I have played the vanilla game 20+ times. The race is a breeze at a cruise speed of 300. In Crossfire, they all seem to be 450 (all that I remember flying). I have an A-100 Stormrider. I even replaced it with the low-end ship sold there at the race battleship (Cavalier). This ship did provide tighter turns, but at that speed, it made no difference on the second half of the race. Do other ships have a slower cruise speed?

I was really looking forward to trying something new with Crossfire, but this will end the game for me if I can't find another way past it. *Way* too aggravating for what I consider to be the least interesting part of the original game.

• There is a hint given just after the start of the race by one of the betters on the Hood. He says "keep your eye on the next gate". This is the key. Once you are set up
    for the gate you are about to pass through shift your focus to the next gate and keep it there until you are set up for it, then shift again to the following gate and so on. Once you get that down, you will notice
    you will be in a flow that will let you over take Hovis when he over shoots about mid way and you can pass him. You will know this has happened when he tells his guys to give you something to think about.